Jim Martin's Encouragement Note
Jim Martin's Encouragement Note
Jim Martin's Encouragement Note #52
--:--
--:--

Jim Martin's Encouragement Note #52

I’m delighted that you are reading this Encouragement Note. When I write, I often ask myself this question, “Will someone find this helpful or encouraging?” As you read the following, I hope you are blessed.

The List of Five

person running on road street cliff during golden hour

(Unsplash - Joshua Sortino)

Remember This When You Are Discouraged

Who is like you, Lord God Almighty? You, Lord, are mighty, and your faithfulness surrounds you. (Psalm 89:8)

Today, we trust in the mighty and faithful God! No human being, not even the most powerful among us, even comes close. The Lord Almighty, who we serve, makes even the most powerful on this earth seem small.

Today, we live as a people who bear the image of this Almighty God. Consequently, you really do matter, along with every other person you will encounter today.

Today, know that you are valuable before God. Others may forget your accomplishments. They may no longer value the way you served in the past, the contribution you made, or the experience you offer. Your value does not depend on how well others recognize that value. Your value is determined by God.

Today, we find our worth, our value, and our significance in God. God knows and remembers - even when others seem to forget.


Don’t Settle For Being Half-alive

Half-alive people can have a faith that never even comes close to doing anything remotely daring.

Half-alive people may talk repeatedly about their experience or formal education in an attempt to communicate self-importance, while in the meantime, giving those nearby a front row seat to their insecurity.

Half-alive people may insist on doing whatever might seem easiest and least difficult even if it means sacrificing what they claim to be important.

Half-alive people often perceive that the best days of their lives are behind them. They speak of themselves as being old not realizing that their worst enemy is not their biological age but their self pity.

Half-alive people have lost any sense of wholeheartedness. Instead they are passive and bland, lacking deep devotion and feeling/believing nothing very deeply.

Half-alive people can be found in church leadership roles, going through the motions of being in the role, and yet having lost what it means to be a disciple of Jesus.

Half-alive people often find a way to sabotage other’s lives through passive-aggressiveness. They douse another’s passion for the Gospel with their own cynicism.

You and I don’t have to settle for being half-alive! Wholehearted devotion to Jesus as Lord is possible.

Realizing this is half the battle.

Share Jim Martin's Encouragement Note


If you have found something helpful in this Encouragement Note, why not share it with several people who could be blessed by this? Also, if you have found something particularly helpful, I would love to hear from you (jmartin9669@gmail.com).


Eight Realities I Wish I Had Learned Sooner (Particularly for ministers/church leaders)

  1. At the very heart of ministry is the critical need for a minister to tend to one’s own soul. Nothing is more important.

  2. I am a disciple of Jesus before I am a leader. (I appreciate hearing my friend Carson Reed say this.) Any church I serve needs for me to be serious follower of Jesus. I may be a minister, a preacher, an elder, etc. These roles come AFTER my primary identity as a disciple of Jesus.

  3. The place to begin in my own discipleship is my marriage and my life as a parent. If I neglect to be a disciple of Jesus at home, I am probably going to significantly limit my ministry outside my home. Being a disciple is not a role to be practiced in ministry. This is a life I am called to live wherever I am.

  4. The people to whom I preach may hear the same teaching and emphasis from another preacher. They may remember that the other preacher said it and not me. This does not have to be discouraging. Thank God for any reinforcement to the preaching/teaching I am attempting to do.

  5. The Internet can be such an incredible blessing or it can be a means to waste time. Lord, help me to know how to use this helpful tool.

  6. I should not assume that long-time church members know the Biblical story that is expressed throughout the Bible. Many people know bits and pieces of Scripture but do not know the larger narrative in the Bible.

  7. Adults in Bible classes need more than to have a truck load of content dumped at their feet for 50 minutes. So many of us could benefit by some content, some thoughtful, reflective questions and good application of Scripture.

  8. “Pay now or pay later.” Either do what needs to be done right now, or you will often find that later the situation may become far more complicated.


A Miracle Assist

Sometimes, it is helpful to stop and pay attention to something inspiring. I love this story about two boys, cancer, and a North Carolina basketball team. (It is only 3:28 long.) This inspiring story may stay with you the rest of the day!


Resources

  1. I listened to an excellent interview in the last few weeks. “Cary Nieuwhof: Why Burnout is Not Inevitable and How Pastors Can Avoid It.” See “The Stetzer ChurchLeaders Podcast.

  2. Listening to Arthur Brooks new book, From Strength to Strength: Finding Success, Happiness, and Deep Purpose in the Second Half of Life. An interesting read from a professor who grapples with the idea of “happiness.”

  3. Michael Thompson has written a brief article that I enjoyed, “To Stand Out Make Yourself Small,” Medium, February 14, 2022.

  4. I enjoyed listening to this 15 minute podcast: “Book Bite #1: You Get Around 4,000 Weeks on Earth. How Should You Spend Them?” This features Oliver Burkeman who recently wrote the book, 4,000 Weeks: Time Management For Mortals.


Each Thursday/Friday, I post about ten tweets especially for ministers and other believers as they anticipate Sunday. You can find me @jimmartin.

I serve as Vice President of Harding School of Theology, Memphis, Tennessee. You can find me at God-Hungry.org. You can find me on Facebook - @jim.martin. My e-mail address is: jmartin9669@gmail.com. Feel free to write. I would love to hear what is encouraging or helpful. — Jim Martin

0 Comments
Jim Martin's Encouragement Note
Jim Martin's Encouragement Note
Encouragement for the Weeks Ahead