Jim Martin's Encouragement Note
Jim Martin's Encouragement Note
Jim Martin's Encouragement Note #81
0:00
-9:45

Jim Martin's Encouragement Note #81

"I Can't Believe You Dropped the Ball" . . . When Your "Engine Light" is On . . . More Than a Bucket of Balls . . . God is With You (Really) . . . Etcetera: Listening and Reading
Glove Buying Guide | ACTIVEkids

The List of Five

“I Can’t Believe You Dropped the Ball”

It was a Thursday, about 7:00 PM in the evening. I had just watched my 6th grade grandson play a baseball game. It took place at a baseball complex in which a number of games were played at the same time.

After the game, I began walking to my car. Ahead of me was a boy, maybe ten years old, and his dad. He was in his baseball uniform and apparently his game too had just ended. As I came closer to the boy and his dad, I overheard their conversation.

The father said, “I can’t you believe you dropped the ball!”

The boy groaned, dropped his head, and burst into tears. “Dad, why do you have to be so critical?”

I ached for this boy. In this moment, he needed reassurance and encouragement. He had apparently dropped a ball in front of everyone. Yet, this was a moment for a hug from his dad not a reminder that he had failed. Instead, his dad emphasized the boy’s mistake.

“I can’t believe you dropped the ball.”

You and I make mistakes. We blunder, communicate poorly, miss the deadline, under perform, etc. I recall “dropping the ball” so many times in school.

  • I took the test and didn’t do very well.

  • I raised my hand to answer the question but gave the wrong answer.

  • I was supposed to run a particular route in football practice and went the wrong way.

Again and again, I have dropped the ball.

Yet, I have continued to do this as an adult. I’ve said the wrong thing to my wife, my children, and others. At times, I thought I had things under control only to drop the ball again.

Contrast this to what I recently experienced. I was invited by my third grade grandson, Lincoln, to accompany him to the All Pro Dads breakfast at his school early one morning. At this breakfast, each dad stood before the entire group and expressed to his son or daughter (or grandchild) why he was proud of them. It was a powerful moment.

Thank God he does not greet us at the end of the day saying, “I can’t believe you dropped the ball.” Instead, our God forgives, cleanses, and washes us. No matter what, he loves and cherishes us.

If you’ve recently “dropped the ball” know that today is a new day. Our Father meets us after a hard day or week, not to remind us that once again we failed, but that he loves and cherishes us. He is with us.


When Your “Engine Light” is On

I was about 20 years old. I was on my way home from work at UPS (Dallas) and the “check engine” light came on in my car. I was on Stemmon’s Expressway (I-35) and it was late at night. I saw the warning light but decided to drive on. Foolishly, I drove all the way to my parents’ home.

By the time I arrived home, smoke was pouring out of the engine. There was a strong burning smell and I knew I was in trouble. A few days later, the mechanic in the shop gave me an estimated cost of repair. Because I kept driving, ignoring the warning light, this repair was going to cost even more.

Occasionally, as you and I attempt to navigate life, we may experience certain warnings. Consider some of these warning lights. They all point to the need to check the “engine.”

  1. You are on edge, irritable, and regularly snap at your spouse and children. At the same time, you act very different when you are at church. You tend to be kind, thoughtful, and gentle with others. Your spouse and children notice that you seem to change when you are around the people from church.

  2. You have withdrawn from others. Perhaps this includes your friends and even your spouse.

  3. You have lost your appetite for the Word of God. Perhaps you rarely read God’s Word or even pray. At the same time, you may wonder why you have such an inner hunger.

  4. You may find that the sin in your life has become common and really doesn’t bother your conscience anymore. It seems to be your normal.

You may be busy, on the go, and very stressed. So you press the accelerator and just stay busy. Yet, when you are dry and empty, quite often it is your soul that needs attention.

This may begin with simply paying attention to the warning lights in your life. Perhaps these words from Peter Scazzero might be helpful. The following are some warnings:

May be a graphic of text

More Than a Bucket of Balls

You and I often have the opportunity to make such a tremendous difference in the lives of our children and grandchildren. You and I may even have the opportunity to make a difference with people who are outside our family.

The story below from CBS newscaster Steve Hartman is a reminder to take advantage of the opportunity for investment.

Share Jim Martin's Encouragement Note


God is With You (Really) (Especially for Ministers and Other Church Leaders)

Many ministers know what it is to be afraid, to be hesitant, to feel inadequate, to wonder about the future, or to feel like an imposter. Are any of these familiar to you?

I have been reading Psalm 46 using The Paraclete Psalter (A Book of Daily Prayer). I love the following paragraph (p. 104):

Where God is, there is no reason to fear. And, since God is “with us” (v. 7) and within us, there is no place to fear. In just a few short verses, the psalmist effectively pulls the sharp teeth from all human anxiety. What real threat exist exists that is able to subdue the faith of those whose “refuge and strength” is God? “Be still, and know that I am God.”

To any minister who is reading these words:

  • God is with you, release your fear to him.

  • God is with you, give your anxiety to him.

  • God is with you, claim his refuge and strength as your own.

Sometimes we may try to hold tightly to anything that feels safe, secure, and predictable. What God invites us to do is to open our eyes, release our grip, and trust that he will not walk away.

Easy? Not always. Powerful? Absolutely.

God is with you and me.


Etcetera: Reading and Listening

  1. Kate Bowler’s interview of John Swinton on “The Art of Presence” was excellent. Swinton is a mental health nurse and a practical

  2. Recently I heard an interview with Beth Moore on a podcast entitled The Whole Person Revolution. This particular episode is entitled, “The Joy of Friendship.” Very good. This is published by Comment Magazine.

  3. See Tim Keller’s excellent article, Lemonade on the Porch: The Gospel in a Post-Christendom Society. This piece (part 1) is about sharing the Gospel in the West.

  4. Some of you may enjoy the discussion between Mark Batterson and Cary Nieuwhof regarding Batterson’s writing process. See Nieuwhof’s podcast here.

  5. I am slowly reading N. T. Wright’s book The Day The Revolution Began: Reconsidering the Meaning of Jesus’s Crucifixion. I have actually had this book for several years, but am just now reading it.


Do you have a friend who might enjoy these Encouragement Notes? Why not share them with a friend? Just click on the button below.

Share Jim Martin's Encouragement Note

I serve as Vice President of Harding School of Theology, Memphis, Tennessee.

Every other Monday morning, I publish this “Encouragement Note.” You can subscribe at jimmartin.substack.com. You can also find me on Facebook - @jim.martin or Instagram - @jimmartin.jm. My e-mail address is: jmartin9669@gmail.com. Feel free to write. I would love to hear what is encouraging or helpful. — Jim Martin

0 Comments
Jim Martin's Encouragement Note
Jim Martin's Encouragement Note
Encouragement for the Weeks Ahead